Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Cricket email

ECB release summer schedule for Ashes year in 2019

The ECB has outlined England’s summer schedule for next year and have confirmed the Ashes series against Australia will have tickets sold via the means of a public ballot.

Each host venue of an Ashes Test match (Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, Oval) will release tickets through their own ballot, which will see county club members and We Are England Cricket Supporters gain priority access, although the public can pre-register their interest now.

Joe Root’s side are seeking to reclaim the Urn after a 4-1 drubbing in Australia last winter. Their route to the Ashes will see history be created when they play Ireland in the first ever Test meeting between the two nations.

The Lord’s Test with Ireland will follow on from a five-match ODI series against Pakistan, as England juggle pre-World Cup preparations with the Ashes in a year to look forward to for every England supporter.

ECB chief executive Tom Harrison alluded to the Ashes result being even more significant given the series marks the start of the new ICC World Test Championship.

Harrison said: “Next summer’s schedule – with an ICC Cricket World Cup and an Ashes Series at its heart is truly a season to savour for cricket fans of all ages, nationalities and cultures. It is a once-in-a-generation opportunity for us to build an even bigger following for all formats of the game.

“There is nothing more important to England cricket fans than an Ashes Series. With the added element of being England’s first Test series in the new World Test Championship, it’s a hugely exciting prospect and we anticipate unprecedented demand for tickets. We would love to see fans from all over the world getting to experience the unique atmosphere of an Ashes Test Match after the ICC Cricket World Cup.

“We fully supported the ICC’s decision to award Full Membership to Cricket Ireland and we expect next summer’s inaugural Test Match at Lord’s against our neighbours to be an historic celebration for all Irish cricket fans.

“It will also provide excellent Ashes preparation for England against an Irish team whose impressive performance against Pakistan earlier this year showed they can compete strongly in this form of the game.”

The Cricket World Cup means an alteration to the way the Royal London One-Day Cup and T20 Blast finals will be scheduled, though Lord’s and Edgbaston remain the host venues, respectively, in 2019.

Defending champs: Australia will play England in the Ashes and then seek to retain their World Cup title (photo: Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

ECB’s Men’s Major Match Schedule Summer 2019

5 May England v Pakistan Vitality IT20 5pm Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

8 May England v Pakistan 1st ODI Kia Oval (D/N)

11 May England v Pakistan 2nd ODI 11am Ageas Bowl

14 May England v Pakistan 3rd ODI D/N 1pm Brightside Ground, Bristol

17 May England v Pakistan 4th ODI D/N 1pm Trent Bridge

19 May England v Pakistan 5th ODI 11am Emerald Headingley

25 May Royal London One-Day Cup Final 11am Lord’s

24-27 July England v Ireland 4-day Test Lord’s

1-5 Aug England v Australia 1st Test Edgbaston

14-18 Aug England v Australia 2nd Test Lord’s

22-26 Aug England v Australia 3rd Test Emerald Headingley

4-8 Sept England v Australia 4th Test Emirates Old Trafford

12-16 Sept England v Australia 5th Test Kia Oval

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , , ,

Share this story


Related Posts


The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

[snack_ad id="6539084" type="1by1"]