Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Cricket email

Tongue ruled out of Lions squad for UAE with injury

By Bradley West

Worcestershire fast bowler Josh Tongue has been ruled out of England Lions tour of the UAE this winter with a stress fracture in his left foot.

Lancashire’s 21-year-old quick Saqib Mahmood replaces Tongue in the four-day squad having already been named in the limited-overs touring party.

The news comes after England one-day batsman Jason Roy was the feature name in the announcement of England Lions four-day squad for their single four-day game against Pakistan A which starts on November 18.

Roy joins the likes of Kent wicketkeeper batsman Sam Billings, Surrey off-spinner Amar Virdi and Worcestershire batsman Joe Clarke in being named in the four-day squad.

As well as the four-day game, there are five 50-over games against Pakistan A from November 25 and two T20 fixtures against Pakistan A on December 7 and 8.

England Lions squads:

Four-day squad: Dom Bess (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Joe Clarke (Worcestershire), Nick Gubbins (Middlesex), Max Holden (Middlesex), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Yorkshire), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Jamie Porter (Essex), Jason Roy (Surrey), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Amar Virdi (Surrey), Mark Wood (Durham).

Limited-overs squad: Dom Bess (Somerset), Joe Clarke (Worcestershire), Alex Davies (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Nick Gubbins (Middlesex), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Max Holden (Middlesex), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Yorkshire), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Jamie Porter (Essex), Mark Wood (Durham).

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Friday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , ,

Share this story


Related Posts


The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

Who will win the 2019 Cricket World Cup?

New Zealand
South Africa