Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample

Newsletter

Get our weekly Cricket email

‘It was within the rules’ – Ravi Ashwin defends controversial Mankad dismissal

Ravi Ashwin has insisted he acted ‘within the rules of cricket’ after his mankad dismissal of Jos Buttler sparked worldwide condemnation of his actions.

In the IPL encounter between Ashwin’s Kings XI Punjab and Buttler’s Rajasthan Royals, the spinner resorted to the ploy with Buttler stood at the non-striker’s end on 69.

Ruled a fair dismissal by the third umpire, Kings captain Ashwin refuted the notion his actions were contrary to the spirit of the game because it’s in the rules.

“On my part it was very instinctive and it was not planned or anything like that,” Ashwin said after the game.

“It is there in the rules of the game. I don’t know where the understanding of the spirit of the game comes from because quite naturally if it’s there in the rules, it’s there.

“So probably the rules need to go back and be sorted.”

Royals were well placed to chase down their target of 185 for victory, and they had Buttler to thank for his innings as opener.

The England and Lancashire batsman had scored a 43-ball 69 when he fell victim to Ashwin’s skullduggery.

A flashpoint which saw the Royals fall from 108-2 to 158-6 in five overs.

Royals coach Paddy Upton remained implicit in his comments about the Mankad incident, as his side fell 14 runs short in slipping to defeat.

“I think R Ashwin’s actions tonight speak for him and represent him. When I looked in the eyes of his teammates I’m not sure if it represented his teammates,” Upton said.

“I think we’ll leave it up to the IPL fans to decide if that’s the kind of thing they want to see and we’ll leave it up to the cricket world to judge Ashwin’s actions tonight.”

Law 41.6, which was amended as recently as April 2017, says: “If the non-striker is out of his/her ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out.”

Ravi Ashwin

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Friday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , ,

Share this story

PinIt

Related Posts

Twitter

The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

Who will win the 2019 Cricket World Cup?

England
India
New Zealand
South Africa
Pakistan
Australia
Other