Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Cricket email

Australian World T20 squad sees major reshuffle

THERE is set to be three Australian debutants at the World T20 after Peter Nevill, Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa were all named in the squad.

The Australian 15-man team has been dramatically reshuffled with Steven Smith replacing Aaron Finch as captain, despite Finch being named in the touring party.

Recent t20 picks such as Matthew Wade, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon and Travis Head have all missed out with Cameron Bancroft’s inclusion for the last t20 against seemingly a one-off experiment.

Australia’s chairman of selector Rod Marsh said: “Aaron Finch has done a very good job captaining Australia in t20 cricket.”He will have benefited enormously from the leadership opportunity and will remain a highly-respected leader within the Australian squad.

“However since he became t20 captain, there has been a broader leadership transition in Test and one-day international cricket with Michael Clarke retiring and Steve Smith assuming the captaincy in Test and one-day cricket.

“We think now is the right time for Steve to lead Australia in all three forms of the game as it offers us important continuity, not only ahead of the World T20, but beyond that tournament as well.”

Australia squad for ICC World Twenty20: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, James Faulkner, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill (wk), Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , , ,

Share this story


Related Posts



The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

[snack_ad id="6539084" type="1by1"]