Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Cricket email

The upcoming changes in the 13th IPL and other updates

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most followed cricket tournaments worldwide. It is an annual professional T20 cricket league in India that has been around since 2007 when it was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India or BCCI.

This year is the 13th edition of the IPL and it has been recently announced when the league will finally start. IPL 2020 or now also named as the Vivo IPL will begin on March 29 and will be held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The last day of the said tournament will be on May 24.

Many cricket fans are now surely looking forward to this year’s IPL especially since this year’s auction is also already finished. There are a total of 972 cricketers listed for this year’s IPL, but there were only 73 positions to be filled.

Hyderabad, Rajasthan, and Punjab all ended up having 25 players while the other leagues have 23 or 24. Only Bangalore ended up with just 21 players in total. All leagues maxed out the allowed overseas players in each team, which is eight.

For the IPL 2020 auction, Pat Cummins seems to be the most expensive purchase. He will now be playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. When it comes to the Indian players, Piyush Chawla is the most expensive. His contract is worth almost a million dollars. He will now be playing for the Chennai Super Kings. Overall, there is a total of 20 transfers that happened between the teams during the transfer window.

Even the punters are most likely already thinking about the bets they will place for IPL 2020. Even if the match schedules are not yet released, the locals are probably already looking for an online cricket betting site with Indian rupees as a payment option.

Surely, not only India will place their bets on the IPL 2020. The IPL is known to have ranked 6 on the 2014 list of the most popular sports tournament worldwide. This means that countries, where cricket is big, may also be placing their bets online for this.

Now, this year’s IPL is longer than how it used to be. IPL 2020 has a 57-day window and this means that double headers may not necessary anymore. Since this might be how the IPL will be moving forward, there may be no more double headers in the next IPLs.

The 57-window is just one change for this year’s IPL. Another thing that could change is the starting time of the matches. Previously, matches would start in the afternoon, at around 4 PM, but this year, it is likely that the matches will start at 7:30 PM.

This is something that may be seen as either good or bad by cricket fans who’d like to watch the matches live.

There are a few reasons as to why the league is planning on moving the starting time of the matches. These changes are based on how the IPL went in the last few years and based on that, last year’s matches. There were matches that started later than 7:30 PM and this became a problem for some as a lot of matches last year ended really late. The locals had a hard time going home because of this.

Franchises have said that matches scheduled as early as 4 PM can be tough for the broadcasters, but surely this isn’t really the case.

It does seem like the best solution is to just start the games in the afternoon, but if that’s the case, franchises may also have a hard time filling out the seats of the venues. Most of the matches will happen on a weekday and not a lot will be available as early as 4 PM to watch the matches live as weekdays are workdays.

Still, despite the possibility that the matches will start at 7:30 PM, there are still some who think that it will still be a struggle. Venues, where the IPL will be held, are found in busy districts and traveling from home or work to the stadium can take up a lot of time. Many might just miss the start of the game, so this is still something that the organizers will have to consider.

It’s still unknown as to when the complete schedule of the matches will be released. Eight teams will be competing this year and here they are:

  1. Kings XI Punjab
  2. Delhi Capitals
  3. Kolkata Knight Riders
  4. Chennai Super Kings
  5. Mumbai Indians
  6. Rajasthan Royals
  7. Sunrise Hyderabad
  8. Royal Challengers Bangalore

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Share this story




The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

[snack_ad id="6539084" type="1by1"]