Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Cricket email

How much prize money awaits the winner of the Cricket World Cup?

Cricket World Cup

Eoin Morgan and company stand to net England a prize purse of £3.15m ($4m) if they are able to win the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

The ICC have disclosed the sums which will be split across all ten nations set to compete in the tournament in England and Wales.

From a prize pot totalling a little under £10m, a 25 per cent increase compared to 2015, £3.15m will be paid to the team that is triumphant and £1.5 to the runners-up.

England open the tournament at the Oval against South Africa on 30 May, followed by nine further matches which concludes at Chester-le-Street when they take on New Zealand on 3 July.

Each win prior to the knockout stages of the World Cup will net each victor £31,000.

The ICC have reverted the format of the tournament to similar guidelines of 1992, where each nation plays each other once in a round-robin phase, with quarter and semi finals preceding the Lord’s final on 14 July.

In addition to releasing details of the financial reward, the ICC also confirmed the commentary team set to occupy the microphone for the governing body’s worldwide broadcast service.

World Cup captains Graeme Smith, Nasser Hussain, Kumar Sangakkara, Wasim Akram, Brendon McCullum, Shaun Pollock, Mike Atherton, Sourav Ganguly and Michael Clarke will all call World Cup events, as well as seasoned media figures Ian Bishop, Simon Doull, Michael Holding, Melanie Jones, Isa Guha and Alison Mitchell, as well as Sanjay Manjrekar and Harsha Bhogle.

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , ,

Share this story


Related Posts



The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

[snack_ad id="6539084" type="1by1"]